Farne Islands

Recently I had a week on solitary retreat on the shore (30 paces from high water mark) opposite Lindisfarne. One day, I visited the Farne Islands off the Northumberland coast. I went across to the Farnes on Billy Shiels’ (MBE) boat from Seahouses.
Hosts of birds were busy with family arrangements.
NorthumberlandMay2014 078
We landed on one island sanctuary for an hour.

NorthumberlandMay2014 040
Murres or Guillemots (From the French for ‘William’)

NorthumberlandMay2014 069
Green Cormorants or Shags like to decorate their home – as with fisherman’s gloves.

NorthumberlandMay2014 066
Everyone needs to watch out for Herring Gulls – they like eggs.

NorthumberlandMay2014 083

NorthumberlandMay2014 082
Here you can watch the puffins – from 12 feet away.

NorthumberlandMay2014 053

NorthumberlandMay2014 055
Rafts of Guillemots

NorthumberlandMay2014 039
Face the wall my darlings, till the gentlemen go by.

NorthumberlandMay2014 041

About Harry Nicholson

I once bred Beveren rabbits in all colours. Today, I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. On Amazon is my novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' Recently I published memoirs of my time in the Merchant Navy: 'The Best of Days' and 'You'll See Wonders" I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Farne Islands

  1. ktb99 says:

    Great photos. Loved the puffin colony.

  2. Michael says:

    Harry, I saw your sign up on Creative Tuesdays and was excited to check out your piece but did not see anything with Creative Tuesdays in title or the theme? Please re sign up and link to your art (per instructions) so we can all enjoy it. Thank you!.

  3. Thanks for sharing the lovely pictures, Harry.

  4. That must have been a wonderful day out Harry 😀

Leave a comment