A Day at the Museum

Yesterday – a grey Saturday – went to the Royal Armouries at Leeds. It is where the Liverpool to Leeds canal empties into the River Aire:

I met Tom Fleck

I left Tom frozen in time

An aristocrat - it is all down to them

A diamond?

For looking into

Too see into the tower

For extending frontiers

Like at Pavia

Perhaps these are Tom's descendants

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Day at the Museum

  1. Well, I see your enamels aren’t here? Where shall I look? So you like where one little stream runs into another, or into the sea? I like that too. Those are even good spots in the desert, where one little river runs into another. One just knows something is happening!

    • Hello Annell. This blog might be growing too complex – but you will find the enamels under ‘Enamel Gallery’ on the header bar.
      Where two rivers meet can be a magic place – particularly if they are similar size. The Meeting Of The Waters is one such place in North Yorkshire.

  2. kolembo says:

    Oh, how very interesting! The ‘diamond’ thing is beguiling. Fusing pictures on glass into copper? I’d like to see that. Thanks for this.

  3. earlybird says:

    Great pics, Harry. Love the diamond. Looks like a good day. Wish I’d found out about the Museum when my daughter was studying at Leeds. Don’t suppose I’ll ever go there again…

    • Good morning earlybird and Paul. The museum is still sparkling new – when I visited four years ago to research the novel it was all raw and under conversion. Where I parked then, on a bit of waste ground, is now a jousting ground where knights on shaggy ponies tilt at each other and hawking is demonstrated. The canal warehouses have been replaced by posh shops and night-spots. I hardly knew it from my other visit.

  4. Tilly Bud says:

    What an amazing place! I love that diamond. Tom isn’t as handsome as I imagined him.

  5. Deborah says:

    Fantastic photos, and I agree with Susannah they look great when enlarged. I feel I’ve had a mini guided tour, thank you :o)

    (your comment on my ISaw did make me giggle!)

  6. vivinfrance says:

    What an interesting day you had. I loved the design /pattern effect of the view into the tower.

  7. Susannah says:

    Wonderful photos Harry!

    They look amazing when you click to get the large size, especially the tower!

    Thanks for joining us again this week at I Saw Sunday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

