Prospect of Whitby

Thats the name of a famous pub in London’s dockland. It was built from the timbers of the good ship ‘Prospect’ of Whitby.
This week I delivered copies of ‘Tom Fleck’ to the Whitby bookshop – then took some pictures by the river Esk.

It was low water (or 'lar watter')

 

Cobles of various sorts - the design descends from Viking times.


Then I went four miles north to Sandsend - Here is Sandsend Nab.

I always look at where the beck flows into the sea. They can chuck my ashes into this.

 

Ironstone boulders at extreme low water.

 

 

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Prospect of Whitby

  1. Harry I enjoyed your post! Thanks so much.

  2. vivinfrance says:

    Fascinating pictures. Inspiration for enamels? My favourite is the rocks and pebbles

    • Yes, Viv. Inspiration for arty things – with a very new and tiny camera. Well, tiny compared to my 35mm Pentax which was like carrying a comotose dog around my neck. I lugged that Pentax across the Himalaya – but the pics were good.

  3. Lovely photos, Harry. I spent many a holiday in Bridlington, Scarborough and Flamborough Head as a child; visiting Whitby a couple of times. Your photos brought it all back to me. Thank you. 🙂

  4. Susannah says:

    I have never visited Whitby so enjoyed your photos. I really loved the big rock in the final photo! Thanks for sharing with I Saw Sunday. 🙂

  5. earlybird says:

    Wonderful, evocative pictures, Harry. Thank you. I went to Whitby for the first (and so far only) time a couple of years ago but I wasn’t low water and I spent more time searching out Lucy and Dracula’s haunts (I studied the book as part of an OU literature course and was very excited about being ‘there’!) and eating delicious fish at the Magpie Café than walking along the sands… shame. But, thanks to you, now I’ve been.

    • Dracula has overwhelmed the other things Whiby was known for – the ship’s crows nest, the barques Endeavour and Resolution, and the Synod when the Celtic church had to concede its independence and join with Rome.
      But never mind – all things pass.

  6. 1sojournal says:

    I’m with Deborah, such interesting places and enjoy your photos,

    Elizabeth

  7. Deborah says:

    I love your posts as I get to ‘visit’ such interesting and lovely places … and I loved (or ‘lar watter’) too! :o)

Leave a Reply

