Not Much

A quiet week. Thought about enamelling but the workshop was too cold, so I just took a picture of it.

enamel workshop

We did go 20 miles up the coast to Saltburn. It was chilly. Not many folk about.


Ten years ago Saltburn was a faded Victorian spa town. But things are changing – sophisticated people are moving in – writers and the like.

There is a magnificent new art gallery in an old bank building..

Beryl in the Artsbank

The gallery was set up by a local business man to stimulate the arts in Cleveland. They have some of our enamels and a few copies of my novel, ‘Tom Fleck’. The blue structure is a model of the famous Middlesbrough transporter that bridges the Tees – it is now 100 years old.

enamels at Artsbank

man of iron

Most of our steelworkers have had to find other work. This sculpture says it in steel.

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog, enamel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Not Much

  1. The picture of that faded Victorian spa town looks so much more interesting than the slick new buildings. It’s as if it had a personality of its own. But then I’m not too fond of changes. So I guess I can be excused:-) Man of iron looks so real. If it was a longer shot, one would’ve had difficulty believing it was only a statue.

    • That iron scupture is a lament for the local steel-works threatened with closure, (1500 jobs were lost); it has lately been rescued and the furnace is being brought back to life

  2. Congrats on your upcoming release. I totally enjoyed the pictures and thank you for your visit 🙂

  3. Tilly Bud says:

    I love touring with you.

    Fabulous sculpture.

  4. vivinfrance says:

    I delighted in your Sunday rambling. The man of iron is wonderful: how I’d love to have him in my garden. Although sorrowing, there is something peaceful about him.

    Have they sold any Tom Flecks? Jock is having difficulty in shutting the book to get up and do something!

  5. earlybird says:

    Thanks very much for the visit, Harry.

    I liked seeing your workspace too. (Are we all ‘voyeurs’!)

    The iron man is astonishingly expressive.

  6. Lovely photos, Harry. 🙂

    I too liked seeing your workshop space.

    Paul

  7. 1sojournal says:

    Love the photos, especially the one of the shoreline, there are so many different shades of blue in it all blending together. And I too am always curious about someone else’s work space, maybe because mine is always a bit of mess and I envy anyone who is orderly. I like the idea of making the bank into an art gallery, keeping the important stuff safe. Thanks for sharing your week,

    Elizabeth

  8. Susannah says:

    As always Harry I enjoyed your photos.

    I especially liked seeing your workshop, there is something about seeing a place where the creativity takes place, that interests me. In my time I have had my own work spaces too and seeing them poised and ready for action makes me tingle with excitement. 🙂

    I enjoyed the gallery pictures too, and the iron man!

    Looks like a damp grey day at Saltburn. 🙂

Leave a Reply

