Tom Fleck by Harry Nicholson

Here is a comment from Paul in Newfoundland:

Tom Fleck by Harry Nicholson.

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tom Fleck by Harry Nicholson

  1. Neil Cogswell says:

    Thoroughly enjoyed Tom Fleck, which I found well displayed in my local bookshop. If at any time you are planning on leading a tour of Flodden field please let me know – I would like to join it. Thank you for illuminating a period of history of which I knew too little.

  2. I kept thinking while I was reading Tom Fleck – Harry must have been watching closely when he was working in the television industry. It is a novel and not a screen play but it feels like it would give all the directions needed for casting the actors, choosing the locations, directing the action and the camera shots. I assume that the historical details are right as Harry would know or find out.
    I am not a patient reader. I was dyslexic and so read as little as humanly possible as a child. When I started to read for enjoyment, I read only poetry because there was no waste, every word counted. Late I graduated to plays; again every word counted. Then came non-fiction. Finally I began to read prose fiction but I would skip passages that ‘set the scene’ with great detail. The effort was not worth it. I did not skip any of Tom Fleck’s passages because very few words were wasted. To me the prose flowed.
    Good luck to the book.

    • This is the first time I’ve been able to get online for five days. I’m now sitting in the Railway Hotel, Faversham, Kent, with a half of Shepherd Neame and internet access.
      Re ‘Tom Fleck’:
      Thank you, Janet for that reassuring affirmation from your fine mind.

  3. Tony Neilson says:

    Hi Harry, got the book from the site you indicated. All I have to do now is find somewhere nice and quiet to read it. Still very hot over here, so will probably be a winters reading for me. Regards

  4. Isabel Doyle says:

    The photos and text are inviting – wish I was there watching the daffodils bloom. Best of luck with your novel Harry. I’ll look for it the next time I’m in a book shop – none in exile sadly.

    • Good morning Isabel – the daffodils are indeed in bloom. It will be hard to find ‘Tom Fleck’ in a book shop unless you are in Whitby, Melrose or Selkirk, otherwise he remains a denizen of Amazon until he becomes better known.

  5. It’s a great book, Harry. 🙂

Leave a Reply

