Art to Helmsley

Tea Terrace

Tea Terrace

The ‘Look Gallery’ at Helmsley needed some enamels. I took pictures of my latest work (here is one), packed a dozen and took them to Helmsley, a town on the other side of the North Yorkshire Moors.

The gallery took a dozen copies of my novel ‘Tom Fleck’ – so, feeling euphoric, I began taking pictures.

Helmsley

Brown's Store in Helmsley

I caught up with Beryl in a frock shop. Here she is trying to spend ‘Tom Fleck’s’ royalties and my enamelling profits

The town has a Norman castle for keeping Saxons and Danes in feudal order.

And a scarecrow to intimidate birds.

I bought a very good pasty at this Deli. When I was a beekeeper this shop used to buy my honey every Autumn.
So, that was Sunday.

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Art to Helmsley

  1. earlybird says:

    I missed this last week – what a treat to have two ‘days’ to catch up on today! That enamel is beautiful.

    As is the scarecrow. But not in the same league!

  2. What a good day – I anejoyed it vicariously:) I LOVE the photo of the standing stones on your header. Fantastic – did you tae that photo? Just stunning. I would so love to stand in the presence of such stones, and absorb the energy field around them.

    • Hello Sherry. I did take the picture. The Isle of Lewis and the Callanais circle are remote but worth the effort. I found it difficult to walk away from that ancient place – it is older than Stonehenge and the Pyramids.

  3. Deborah says:

    What a gorgeous enamel, and again I loved the little trip to another place :o)

  4. Great photos, Harry. Love the seedy (CD) scarecrow. πŸ™‚

  5. Susannah says:

    PS. that is a really nicely composed photo of Beryl in the clothes shop.

    Hello Beryl! πŸ™‚

  6. Susannah says:

    Wonderful photos Harry. It sounds like a good day, it is nice to have a day out when there is a purpose to it too. I like your enamel and how wonderful that they took some copies of your book too!

    I am so glad that you joined us on I Saw Sunday, I missed seeing your name in the linky earlier! (I was late posting my entry this week.)

    Have a wonderful week. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

