Black Sheep


Spring came last week and the alpine garden smiled again.

anemones and the piddock stone

Anemones that the bank voles had missed.

This sacred place was overwhelmed by snow – see how the stupa now leans.

Then the cloud returned. But we went up the dale to Danby anyway – to the North Yorkshire Moors Visitor Centre.

Met a fine lady.

No! I will not get off this land!

Inside the centre was an exhibition by local textile artists. I took a picture or two for Viv in France.

Before going to Lealholm village to find a pub.

When I got out my camera the barmaid fled.

A fascinating and genial old codger. He was drinking Black Sheep and said he’d written a novel. I ask you! Does he look educated enough?

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Black Sheep

  1. fryupress says:

    Don’t know if you realised Harry but the other ‘old Codger’ (gamekeeper at the Moors Centre) was modelled by my husband!!

  2. Lovely photos and words to match.

    And thanks for posting your fun squirrel poem at my blog. I hope you’ll consider participating in my weekly Limerick-Offs. I post a new one every Sunday or Monday. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 1sojournal says:

    Really like your wonderful rambles and all of the images. The old codger looks down right satisfied, to me,

    Elizabeth

  4. Tilly Bud says:

    Your life seems so mellow. I enjoyed the tour.

  5. I really enjoy looking at your photos, Harry.

  6. vivinfrance says:

    PS that wall hanging has inspired me to try again (see my I Saw Sunday)

  7. vivinfrance says:

    Enjoyed that, Harry. I think Beryl looks more fun than the skinny Lizzie with a face like a nippy sweety. The old codger looks happy with his lot. Did you leave them some copies of Tom F at the visitor centre? ?

  8. Susannah says:

    I enjoyed the outing, thanks for letting us tag along!

    Your garden looks wonderful (what is a piddock stone?)

    By the way I love your description – “A fascinating and genial old codger.” ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Lots of photos in my post this week too.

    • The piddock is a mollusc that lives just below low-water mark off the beach. It burrows a hole into the bed-rock and anchors its lower extremity within. After storms, the rock breaks up and we can find the piddock stones along the shore.
      Often the hole goes right through – you can use it as a peep-hole if a witch comes near. If you look through a ‘witch-stone’ – the witch cannot see you.

  9. earlybird says:

    Another lovely virtual outing. Thanks Harry.

Leave a Reply

