Meanwhile, up on the Tweed:

We’ve made the Berwick Advertiser!

Flodden novel tells archer’s fascinating story – Lifestyle & Leisure – Berwick Advertiser
http://www.berwick-advertiser.co.uk/life…

the fortunes of an English archer who stood alongside the Earl of Surrey at the Battle of Flodden in 1513 is told in the first historical fiction novel written by Harry Nicholson.
etc…etc…

Includes fetching mug-shot.

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Verses and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Meanwhile, up on the Tweed:

  1. Hi Harry,

    Great to see you in the paper! Hope you get many more sales. As I’ve said before, Tom Fleck would make a great period movie, truly. Now that would be a sight to see.

    Best Wishes

    Paul

    • Thanks, Paul. There are sales in Australia that I have no figures for. We are approaching the ebook stage. The beauty of ‘print on demand’ is that it need never be out of print or remaindered and so the story can have a long, even if humble, life.
      My heirs might have a small income from ‘Tom Fleck’ long after this keyboard sleeps.
      Today, I feel curiously relaxed about it all.

  2. Sales? I haunt Amazon graphs. They indicate 30 in the UK but don’t list for Germany, France and Canada etc (places where I know there have been sales). There has been a handful in the States. I’ll have better figures mid-year when royalties are paid.
    I’ve sold 50+ by hand and there are some out in shops and art galleries (sitting with my enamels).
    So I wont be upgrading the motor car just yet.

    Enamelling is more lucrative – but writing has its rewards: here is a response to me putting the Tweed item on facebook:

    Hi Harry,
    Joy Funnell commented on your status.
    Joy wrote “AND South!!! Having bought your book at the GOE conference Harry we are loving it! Hubby read it in 2 days, he is a great reader of books, and was so impressed. Loved the book and really liked all the historical accuracy. I am half way through and am enthralled by it!! THANK YOU!!”

    • Tilly Bud says:

      That’s pretty good considering you are doing the marketing yourself and it hasn’t been that long. And, more to the point, you have had nothing but good reviews. I’m really pleased for you, Harry.

  3. Tilly Bud says:

    Very fetching! Great news, Harry. How are sales going?

Leave a Reply

