Odds and Ends

Queen for the day

She was dressed better than most on that hill top.

But is only Whitby.

Selling pennies

A place where you can buy money.

Rosey

You might want to spend a penny.

Find just the lock for the outside ‘nettie’.

Stroke the patina from long-gone hands.

Or chat to the nice lady from the top of Glaisdale who grows organic veg and sells scrumptious eggs from hens that run about the hill.

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Odds and Ends

  1. Tilly Bud says:

    I’ve been ordered to retract my previous statement: I was telling the Hub about your coin and my comments and he indignantly reminded me that he has a couple of Roman coins and one from the Byzantine era, which he loves because of the history it must have seen.

  2. vivinfrance says:

    Harry, you have such varied Sundays. I love ’em all.

  3. I always love looking at your photos, Harry. Pieces of home for me to reminisce over.
    Car booting used to be a big part of my weekend ritual. Up early, out early and back early lol. Great to get some fresh air and have a wander around looking at stuff. Memories….

  4. Tilly Bud says:

    Threepenny bits! I always loved them as a child.

    Were you buying or selling?

    • Just taking pictures that day. I already have an assortment of old money in a box – it includes a sixpence of Elizabeth 1st, I found it when lifting potatoes (someone has cut slasshes across her face – some long dead ill-will . . .)

      • Tilly Bud says:

        Wow! Didn’t know they went that far back. What a wonderful find…imagine the hands it has been through. My husband collects old coins but he hasn’t got anything that old – I’ll have to set him potato digging 🙂

  5. 1sojournal says:

    When I mood is right, I love to go rummaging. Such great surprises and often v ery interesting people. Like your photos,

    Elizabeth

  6. Kim Nelson says:

    The photos are a pleasure to peruse, and I am looking forward to seeing more of them as well as your poetry.

  7. Susannah says:

    Oooh Harry, my favourite place to be on a Sunday, a car boot sale! It looks like a lovely day for it too. Great pictures!

    Earlybird, to solve your issues with the photos, could you middle click (if your mouse has a middle button) or ‘right click’ over the pictures and press ‘open in new tab’?

  8. Judy Roney says:

    What a lovely day out! Love the photos, too. It all looks like so much fun.

  9. earlybird says:

    I love these Sunday rambles, Harry.

    However, a polite request: would it be possible either to make the pictures a little bigger or have them opening in a new window, please? I don’t mind enlarging them but they open in the same window and it’s a bore to then have to keep returning with the ‘back’ arrow to come back here.

Leave a Reply

