Wedding of the Kelpies

A strange event at Sandsend this week.

betrothed

The betrothed took a stroll at low water.

wedding party

Then joined the other lovers.

And, singing a strange music, returned beneath the waves.

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Wedding of the Kelpies

  1. Poets United says:

    As Poets United reaches its first anniversary this coming week we want to thank you for your support. Over the past year we have grown to 250 members plus and are steadily growing.

    Poets United is proud to have you as one of our members and look forward to another successful year.

    Your imagination, creativity and willingness to share with us is what makes our community such a wonderful place. Thank you for beautiful poetry and thank you for being a part of Poets United.

    Poets United

  2. This is a cool post, Harry. Made me smile. 🙂

  3. Ina says:

    Love this wedding party 🙂

  4. WyomingDiva says:

    Loved the combination of pictures and verbal imagery. And thank you for the suggestion on my poetry blog!

  5. Becca Givens says:

    I really like this, Harry! Well done ~

  6. Mike Patrick says:

    Great to see some humor other than ‘Swinging the Lamp.’ I’m still waiting for the next chapter.

  7. Annette says:

    Thanks for catching the typo on my “Honey” poem! My intention was to have the line to read as you indicated. And thanks for stopping by!

  8. Olive Tree says:

    I like how you make a story with your pictures. Great job. I’d like to stumble on something like this too one day. The problem is that sometimes when I stumble on something unique, I don’t realize to take my camera out and think of a story like this. Thanks for sharing this.

  9. bendedspoon says:

    what an imagination! I do — love it 🙂

  10. Susannah says:

    I loved this post Harry! 🙂

    Really wonderful.

  11. Ena says:

    Interesting photos. The more I look at them, the more I’m convinced that they are a wedding party 😉

  12. 1sojournal says:

    Wonderfully whimsical, and beautiful marriage between words and images.

    Elizabeth

  13. earlybird says:

    Me too – I like this! Great imagination. Poetry in pictures.

  14. vivinfrance says:

    A beautiful mysterious evocation.

  15. By! You are quick – the ink is still wet.

  16. Tilly Bud says:

    Harry, how lovely 🙂

Leave a Reply

