One day . . .

One day the sheep will go back to the crag, the oxen to the forest and the boar to the oak-wood. No more shrieks of anguish from the packed, dark sheds that squat in English fields.

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One day . . .

  1. Susannah says:

    Lets hope that will be so. Wonderful words Harry.

  2. This made me feel sad. It is a subject which concerns me greatly.

    Your words here are few and more powerful for that, I think

    Christine

    PS I don’t know how to contact you other than here so my apologies if here isn’t the appropriate place for the following comment.

    I have been thinking about what you said regarding making a poem more universal. I wrote one the other day which I almost made too personal, entitled “Grief”. I then recalled what you had said and changed it; I received many moving comments .

    So thank you.

    Christine

  3. Mike Patrick says:

    Brings back thought of the first time I read “Animal Farm;” back when I was a kid who thought it was a book about animals on a farm.

  4. Elizabeth says:

    What a magnificent dream… x

  5. belfastdavid says:

    Sadly methinks one day pigs will fly.

    David

  6. earlybird says:

    maybe… Powerful, Harry.

  7. Tilly Bud says:

    Beautiful words on an ugly matter.

Leave a Reply

