Yellow Pages

I’ve recently bought, for the price of six coffees, ‘Lectures and Papers on the History of the Reformation’ by Moore, tutor of Keble College Oxford, published 1890. 500 pages of scholarship to sift through as I research for the next historical fiction.
It has a cracked, but noble, binding; spine almost gone; a buff library plate with the legend: Borough of Launceston Library. So far, I’ve not seen any minute specks on the move. The pages within have yellowed to the colour of my last labrador. The book smells a little bit and reminds me of that old tail-wagger.

You don’t get any of this from an eBook.

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Yellow Pages

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Mmm… I can imbibe that antique mustiness and feel the cracks in the binding through your words, Harry. What a treasure and what a rich, oh so significant period of history it encompasses. Wish I was looking over your shoulder as you read…x

  2. Ina says:

    Hi Harry
    That is exciting! I am a fan of the paper works rather than the electric thing. What a great catch! The vanilla like smell (or that of a dog) šŸ™‚ and to know it is old and have been through the hands of people long forgotten…
    So your new book will be about the time of the Reformation?
    That is some adventure to do!

    • The next one (whenever – but probably before next ice-age) is set 23 years later than Tom Fleck. Tom will be that much older, along with Rachel, and will become tangled up with the Pilgrimage of Grace (1536). It will be a knotty job.

  3. I’m with you on this, Harry. I love the smell and feel of old books. eBooks and eReaders are truly wonderful inventions, they just don’t have any character. I guess we’ll be saying the same about human clones a couple of hundred years from now. lol

    • The Kindle is amazing (I must find out how that electronic ink works . . . I’m supposed to be an electronics engineer) I’ve finished your eBook: More Than A Flash Of Fiction | Kindle Edition
      and left a short review on the Amazon.com site. Read all the shorts in one go – easy on the mind.

  4. Ruth says:

    For the price of six coffees? What a great buy! I love the listing of what we don’t get from an e-book – so true.

    • Yes – but I’m going away for four days tomorrow and will be taking the Kindle – there is archaic poetry on it just waiting to be read as well as Captain Cook’s journal – and a bit of chick-lit a friend wrote. It will be a meditation event so perhaps I’d best stay with the poetry.

Leave a Reply

