Green Linnet

I’m becoming master of electrons. My novel, ‘Tom Fleck’ has survived the Smashwords process and is now readable as a low cost eBook on all other reader devices (it’s been on Kindle since May). I’m now putting an anthology of stories and verse called ‘Green Linnet’ through the Smashwords device. As a tiny contribution to civilisation Green Linnet will be a free book.

http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/113466

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Verses and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Green Linnet

  1. sonsy lass says:

    I wasn’t disappointed, Harry! Smashwords was simple to access and I enjoyed Green Linnet very much – what a great variety of poems and stories which seemed to reflect so many of your interests. ‘Hokkaido the Noo’ was very clever and amusing. I went to hear Alistair Moffat recently talking about his book ‘The Scots – A Genetic Journey’. I think he would enjoy this, Harry!

  2. sonsy lass says:

    Happy New Year, Harry – and my very best wishes to Beryl. Reading Green Linnet will be my weekend treat – and something to suggest to my bookgroup. I am very impressed by your adventures in the interweb!

    • And may your new year be blessed, Susanne. I hope you and your family are well in your Border home.
      Beryl is well – I’ll convey your wishes. My web adventures might have all been too much – I’ve been pondering on why my mind feels buzzed lately and am pretty sure it is too much time on the internet; all those diverse images and opinions coming in like waves. Time now to be a bit quieter and to focus more on art and the imaginal. That’s not to say I don’t welcome hearing from old friends – far from it.

  3. This is the link for Green Linnet at smashwords.com

    http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/113466

    A lovely collection of poems and short stories. Thank you.

    Georgina.

  4. Hello, Viv. I’m a bit whoozy today after a tooth extraction – but I’ll send you the Word file to read. I can’t think of what might be wrong, I managed it on this PC.

  5. Hello Harry,

    thank you for your interest in our straw bale hotel.

    Greetings from Switzerland

    Louis

  6. earlybird says:

    I’m off to download it now, Harry. Thank you.

  7. You never know, Viv – Kindle comes in a cubic box.
    Smashwords is a company that takes word files and makes them into eBooks that can be read on almost all readers (Sony, Nook, Kobo etc.) It made a Kindle version, but Amazon don’t like to list eBooks that are free from Indies. I’ll look into it.

    • I’ve downloaded the Kindle version of Green Linnet off Smashwords onto the computer. Then I called up the KIndle (plugged into computer – opened ‘documents’, then dragged it from desktop to documents. Now it is on my Kindle.
      I’ll send you the file. You can get the kindle reader software free from Amazon downloads so that you can read their books on your computer.

  8. vivinfrance says:

    Wow, I should like to read that. – I was hoping for a Kindle for Christmas, but the parcel is the wrong shape! Please, Harry: what is Smashwords?

    • vivinfrance says:

      Thank you so much, Harry. I have downloaded the software from Amazon, as you suggested, but still cannot open the Green Linnet: my computer tells me that the software is not there, even though I watched it second by second download.

      BTW I love the watercolour background you have put round your blog.

Leave a Reply

