A response to ‘Tom Fleck’

This has just been received from Satyadaka:

‘ I finished reading ‘Tom Fleck’ last night. I enjoyed it thoroughly. I was reminded of the historical novels of Henry Treece which I read as a child. I found it very engaging and was always reluctant to put it down. I entered the world you had created and was sorry to leave it at the end.

On Friday I happened to find myself in Framlingham, in Suffolk. You probably know that Thomas Howard is buried in the church there. I recognised his name from your book. And Henry Howard (who was executed in 1547) is also there. I couldn’t work out if he was Thomas’ son or not…

I also felt plugged into the more mythical Britain from reading your book, Tom and his family being more pagan than Christian.’

…………………….

Note: Henry Howard was son and grandson of the two of the three Howards in command of the English at Flodden. At the end of his life Henry VIII became paranoid about them and ordered the death of Henry and his father, Thomas.
Henry was executed, but his father survived as the king died before the date set for Thomas’ execution.

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A response to ‘Tom Fleck’

  1. Ivor Jones says:

    I picked up a copy of Tom Fleck locally and then realised Harry that you and I go back over 10 years with our Horsley connections some of whose surnames I see crop up in the novel. A really good read I particularly liked your descriptions of life in the militia armies and I felt that I was there amongst the characters dodging the lances and swords. When is the follow-up coming? Good to make contact again.

    • Ivor! How wonderful to hear from you, it is indeed over ten years since we last connected – I’ll email you soon. I’ve written a couple of scenes for a possible sequel to Tom Fleck, but would like a few more readers for ‘Tom’ before I devote full effort to the next story. If you have an eBook reader (or don’t mind reading on a PC) I’ve a free anthology, of shorts and poetry, on the Smashwords site – it is called ‘Green Linnet’.

      • Ivor Jones says:

        Good to hear from you again Harry. Yes I would like to read the anthology so I will go to the Smashwords site. I see you exhibit at the gallery in Sandsend an area I know well. Can enlighten you more after you email me.
        Cheers Ivor

  2. Tilly Bud says:

    Many a writer had to wait until they were dead to be discovered. 🙂 Don’t give up!

    Lovely review.

  3. I’ve almost given up attempting to promote; it seems futile. World sales via Amazon last month – six. Sales at the Harlech writing week – three.
    Tom Fleck remains a speck on the page of the age.
    Stories of teenage vampires are more in demand.

  4. vivinfrance says:

    Makes all your hard work worthwhile to receive reviews like that. Where are you now on the Amazon sales chart?

Leave a Reply

