‘Sari Caste’ and other things.

It’s been quiet here. I’ve been going through the text of ‘Tom Fleck’ again to prepare the novel for republication through Amazon’s CreateSpace service. It’s an opportunity to root out the odd misplaced comma and other minor matters. Also, a new cover is worth considering so I’m using a local painter’s impression of the escarpment of the Cleveland Hills – featuring Roseberry Topping, the place where Agnes Humble did her courting, the place she gazed towards each morning as her old hands tended her goats.

There is still a bit more work to do – perhaps there should be a glossary of the rarer North British words that occur in the dialogue, and maybe a glossary of the historical persons. Perhaps even some references to the book’s major sources.
Sales have stalled since the Olympics began – maybe all Amazon’s sales have collapsed. But someone in the UK ordered a paperback last night – so hurrah for that!

I’ve been looking through the reviews of ‘Tom Fleck’ and paused at this one – which is particularly warming:
The reviewer, Catherine Kirby, is the author of ‘Sari Caste’, a novel of the women of Calcutta and a story I found rich in atmosphere – it took me back to the vivid India I knew when I was at sea.

By C. Kirby
Format:Paperback|Amazon Verified Purchase
I found Tom Fleck to be a very intriguing story and unlike anything I’ve read before. What a history lesson it would be for those who’d like to know just what it was like to be alive then!

Getting to know Tom Fleck was an interesting, surprising and absorbing journey. I discovered what it was like to live in the 1500s. The story brings to life the tastes, smells, joys, sorrows and hardships of the ordinary people as well as the nobles. The beliefs and prejudices, the food and deprivations, the work they did and the soldier’s lives in and out of battle were clearly recreated. I found the conclusion surprising and very satisfying too.

That far back in history has always seemed to me so unreal that I could almost think they were aliens, by today’s ways of living. Tom Fleck’s story made me feel I was there walking in the same ‘shoes’ as the characters. Harry Nicholson, the author, has also done an amazing job of describing the bird and plant life, the remedies and so much else that has created the world of Tom Fleck. I really enjoyed it. I don’t know how the author has managed to discover so many clever details and used them so magically.

For anyone looking for a story that is intriguing, informative and with a wonderful atmosphere that lingers after reading it I recommend this book very highly.

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog, historical novel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

