Fringe benefits

The Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society have just sent me £74 worth of remittances from institutions world wide that have photocopied bits of my historical novel ‘Tom Fleck’. I got about the same last year. I’d love to know why it’s copied – is it for Creative Writing Courses, as an example of poetic prose or as illustration of excessive use of the semi-colon?

Whatever – it is a bit more than sales of the book bring in.

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fringe benefits

  1. vivinfrance says:

    A strange source of revenue – why indeed copy, when they can read the whole thing. How’s the sequel coming along? I’ve enjoyed the two sections you sent me.

  2. ktb99 says:

    It is probably from libraries if they write a summary of the novel. But why don’t you ask the Society that sends you the money? A nice little handout for you. Hope you are both well. We are snowed in again! Love Kate

    • Hello Kathleen, we have just lingering patches of snow on the hill – and the beginnings of a dawn chorus.
      I’ll investigate the source of the ALCS payments when I get a round tuit.

Leave a Reply

