Steam Power

Steam Power.

Steam Power.

Esk Valley, North Yorkshire. The Sleights to Grosmont incline. Photographed from the Hermitage gate.

May 2013 various 007

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Steam Power

  1. Mike Harris says:

    I envy you your location, Harry. I’m a hop, skip and a jump from a railway line myself, but Southeastern’s EMUs don’t hold the same allure! I had heard about the NYMR reaching Whitby. I’m hoping to see similar scenes on our “local” heritage line, the Bluebell in Sussex, which has just been re-connected to the main line.

  2. Mike Harris says:

    Lovely shots there, Harry. The North Yorkshire Moors Railway is on my list of lines to explore.

    • Hello Mike – The shots were taken less than a mile from my back door. It is on the main line to Middlesbrough – the Moors railway now has permission to use this section so that its engines can now reach Whitby from Pickering. Previously they terminated at Grosmont.

Leave a Reply

