This England

It was today and just a few miles further up Eskdale:

Artgroup and Gooseberryshow 012
Artgroup and Gooseberryshow 010
Artgroup and Gooseberryshow 011

Artgroup and Gooseberryshow 008

Seven years ago I begged some cuttings from one of the champion growers. They were red gooseberries, yellow, and green, and they all rooted. I treated them like royalty and they grew. I made plans for the day when they’d bring home the silver cup.
Then the truth made itself clear: these championship strains are highly bred and not rough and tough like usual garden strains. For the next three years they succumbed to mildew whilst the normal gooseberries cropped abundantly. So I gave up and took my hat off to those canny old dalesmen and their secrets.

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Verses. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This England

  1. Like highly bred dogs seem to get all sorts of weird conditions the average dog doesn’t get!

    I love gooseberries 🙂

  2. You can’t beat the old timers when it comes to growing REAL prize winners Harry, I used to have an allotment and despaired when I saw my hard won puny results beside those in the surrounding plots 😀

    • I know. Buckets of sheep muck stinking in black water. Leeks in drainpipes. Creeping about in the dark with a torch, catching slugs…
      But my early spuds are good and the leeks have taken root.

Leave a Reply

