Remembrance

Armistice Day – we forgot to stand still for two minutes at 11 oclock (the house had been invaded by queen wasps from under the floor – I was stung).
My dad was wounded on the Somme and I try to keep communion with him. He would be 120 on November 13 – this fact makes me feel quite antique. But I was born late – a late gift from God, mother used to say.
Here are some pics of Charles William Nicholson, shipbuilder and artilleryman:
CW Nicholson RFA 1914
CWNicholson
CWNicholson on horse 1914

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Remembrance

  1. We missed the “silence” too. They don’t fire a gun here at 11. But we’ve been remembering, like you.

    How come they were all queen wasps? I thought each nest only had one queen – or is that only bees? Sorry about your sting, they’re very painful.

    • Unlike the honey bee, Viv, the wasp colony does not survive the winter. Lots of queens are made in autumn, each individual hibernates alone (mated) and begins anew next year. The old nest is under our floor – they got in via an air-brick. I left them alone, out of kindness.
      The sting still itches – right on a knuckle.

  2. Those who fought in both World Wars were a breed apart 🙂

  3. Hope the stings aren’t too bad, Harry.

  4. Thank you for sharing, the photos are fantastic. I took some time out to remember yesterday, so many brave souls that fought for us, they were special people.
    I hope you are recovering from your sting 😦

Leave a Reply

