Blizzard

A new enamel, 4×4 inch – gone to https://www.facebook.com/CoastGallery?ref=ts&fref=ts
today.

storm surge 017

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blizzard

  1. Harry, its gorgeous! I would love to have this in my house. One day I will stop this travel lark and have to settle in one place and start to collect magnificent pieces like this. I think some of its charm is because ‘alchemy cannot be standardised’ and each piece has a little bit of its own special magic.

    • That would be good – when you settle down. A lady recently retired to Scarborough has got 14 enamels on the chimney breast of her new home – so I’ve one patron.
      Alchemy – I heard a talk by the enameller who did the huge panels at St Catherine’s dock (near the tower of London) – he said we should stop worrying whether we are artists or craftworkers and realise that we are alchemists. That will do for me.

      • I think you are an artists! But I think the title alchemist is much more romantic and appealing as a title.
        I currently have ‘Blizzard’ as my screen saver and it will forever be linked with my impending relocation to Russia, so I may have to become a patron sooner rather than later.
        I have posted about you fabulous work on my blog, but as my blog is very new and still very small it will not be attracting a huge audience – yet! – but hopefully it might touch the souls of one or two.

  2. ChrisJ says:

    Beautiful piece of work. So glad you chose red instead of blue.

  3. I took it to a gallery today, Viv. I could try to make another, but it can never be exactly the same – alchemy cannot be standardised. I’ll email you.

  4. That’s gorgeous, Harry. Is it for sale? Is it affordabe? Would make a great birthday present for Sally (Burns night )

Leave a Reply

