St Cuthbert’s Cave

St. Cuthbert’s Cave is an overhanging outcrop of Sandstone rock, supported by a pillar of stone. It is said that the monks of Lindisfarne brought St. Cuthbert’s body to this place in AD875 following Viking raids on the Island. Some say that his body was not subject to decay until they laid it to rest at Durham. The cave is a few miles north-west of Belford, in Northumberland. I visited the cave on my recent retreat.
NorthumberlandMay2014 014
NorthumberlandMay2014 023

Visitors, who wished to be remembered, carved their names (some still do):
NorthumberlandMay2014 020
NorthumberlandMay2014 019
NorthumberlandMay2014 017

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to St Cuthbert’s Cave

  1. Edwin says:

    St Cuthbert’s cave – interesting. This lad from the north never ‘erd of it. But then education in ‘artlepools was not into ‘culture’ when I was a boy. We did have drawings of Vikings in our ‘history books’ with the horned helmets, round shields and big swords. In fact most of my remembered history revolves around wars and killings. Trouble is I now get confused about which king killed which king! The reference to Durham set me off. I sang in Durham cathedral as a boy. That was during the war. Often surprised at memories of this sort that Adolph did not stop us getting on with our lives. Ah yes! The sanctuary knocker with the hole in its cheek. When Jean visited the cathedral first she was shocked to her Scottish roots to find a Bruce tomb!

    • I chuckled to learn of Jean’s shock at the Durham Bruce. We had a pub in West View, Hartlepool, called the Brus Arms – it’s been knocked down now. In St Hilda’s on the Headland there is the Brus tomb (opened in the 30s it was found empty except for a copy of the Racing Pink. The de Brus family of Normans were lords of Guisbrough and Hartlepool before their lands were confiscated after they took the Scottish crown and declined to remain a vassal of the Plantagenets down south.

  2. haydendlinder says:

    The photos reminded me of when I was a child and would find interesting nooks in the woods.
    Thank you for reminding me.:)

  3. siobhandaiko says:

    Fascinating, Harry. Shame about the name-carving, though.

  4. Chris Jones says:

    I’ve been back and read some of your other posts about the history of North Yorkshire and the vikings. Having lived in Flamborough for ten years I find them extremely interesting and full of things i didn’t know.

  5. Thanks for explaining the history of the cave: I was in the Shrine of St Cuthbert in Durham Cathedral on Tuesday, with Tilly.

Leave a Reply

