Blooming Heather

We are just back from a ‘quick’ trip onto the local moor to see the heather in bloom, it is exceptional this year. I took an obscure road, and got lost in the midst of the greater North Yorks Moors – so we did not get home for three hours, but it was glorious. Here are some pics:
IMG_5621
IMG_5611
She made a gin and tonic when we got back.
IMG_5613
Unknown stones.
IMG_5618
Peat water – good for the complexion.
IMG_5624
I knew where we were when we came across these trees on a ridge above Rosedale – we were there 10 years ago in Winter.
IMG_5623
Hefted sheep know what they’re about.

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Verses and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blooming Heather

  1. erdosagi says:

    Lovely to see you, and the Yorkshire moors. Some of the photos remind me of my (very) recent stay in Scotland. Including the peat water. And I kept humming Blooming Heather on our walks…

  2. A beautiful post. I bet you can get good honey thereabouts!

    • Thanks, Viv. I stopped at a ‘honey for sale’ sign as we approached Egton Bridge and bought two jars of last year’s heather crop from a venerable apiarist – newly bottled from a bucket (the honey, that is).

  3. How interesting that you should post this now Harry. I have just posted a blog on my website http://www.richvens.co.uk with another in the Sammy the Snail (campervan) series about an obscure road east of Goathland and going through a deep ford. Perhaps you’ll find time to read it!

    Regards
    Richard

Leave a Reply

