We slip away . . .

Here’s me, spending Sunday, writing another historical novel, and this appears: http://www.newstatesman.com/2016/03/can-we-ever-know-what-will-escape-oblivion-history

 

About Harry Nicholson

I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. I write a few poems and short stories. There is an eBook anthology of them, 'Green Linnet' on Amazon. Also a novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog, historical novel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to We slip away . . .

  1. Don’t let it stop you from writing your story Harry 🐵

  2. Stephen Parr says:

    Hello Dhruvasimha, Thanks for posting this very interesting piece from the New Statesman. Much food for thought! How quickly so called ‘deathless’ prose is forgotten!

    Just a request: I’ve been told that my Facebook profile has been hacked. Whoich means that someone could use it to impersonate me, and thereby get access to all my Facebook friends’ accounts. I don’t know if they have done so so far, but Facebook has now taken it down. So anyone posting as “me” for now on is an impostor! In a few weeks I’ll try to resuscitate my account, but until then I’d appreciate it if you could let me know if you see any posts purporting to be from Ananda Parr?

    Many thanks!

    There is NO planet B. Pass it on.

    >

  3. I have often had similar thoughts about the fleeting nature of existence. What really worries me is to think that one day (maybe in hundreds or even thousands of years) great work that should exist for ever, such as Chopin’s piano works, might be forgotten without trace. I don’t care about the ordinary dross.

    Your last book was anything but dross though, Harry, and I am very glad to hear that there will be another.

    • I recall Chopin’s piano works were standard background music in some early vegetarian restuarants. Not so these days. Whatever they play now, I don’t seem to notice. Perhaps it’s blanketed out by SMS ditties.
      Thank you for the affirmation of the writing. It’s not flowing so readily, though. Second books are said to be harder. I hope you and your family are thriving.

  4. 🙂 Some of those 19th century writers had verbal diarrhoeia,and didn’t know when to stop!

Leave a Reply

