When Are You Going Back?

Home on leave and wandering the Saturday shopping streets of British West Hartlepool in the 50s I would spy a fellow I knew. He’d often come out with: ‘Oh! Hello Harry, home from sea again? When are you going back?’

‘When Are You Going Back’ is the title of my third book of seagoing memoir. It appeared on Amazon this week, and follows ‘The Best of Days’ and ‘You’ll See Wonders’. At its close, I’m still at sea – so, with a following breeze, perhaps there’ll be another – who knows?

The cover is from a watercolour by a dear friend. Bill Wedgwood was a fine old seaman from Robin Hood’s Bay. His painting is of Liverpool docks around the late 1950s

About Harry Nicholson

I once bred Beveren rabbits in all colours. Today, I'm an enameller who works with a kiln, fusing pictures in glass onto copper. On Amazon is my novel, 'Tom Fleck', set in the North of England of 1513 - the year of Flodden. A sequel to 'Tom Fleck' is 'The Black Caravel' published in 2016. My anthology of poems came out in 2015: 'Wandering About.' Recently I published memoirs of my time in the Merchant Navy: 'The Best of Days' and 'You'll See Wonders" I've a blog of poems, stories and art at: https://1513fusion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in blog. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to When Are You Going Back?

  1. Graeme Hill says:

    Just to say I enjoyed your first book and am now embarking on “You’ll see wonders”.

    Your writing style really brought those places alive for me even though I’ve seen a number of them for myself.

    Best wishes

  2. Neil Bullock says:

    I have just finished reading ‘When Are You Going Back?’
    It has taken me over a month reading very slowly as I love your writing so much that I never want them to end! (As I mentioned in the Amazon review I have just posted!
    I very much hope that you can treat us to a 4th volume of your maritime story as it come to a conclusion

    • Hello Neil, I’m delighted with your response to vol3, and your sentiments encourage me to continue with the next. Early days, but I’m working on ch2.
      I’ve just sent in a short story for competition for the esteemed Bridport Prize, and also the opening chapters of my first issued novel, ‘Tom Fleck’ – Bridport now allow entries from writers who are not traditionally published but have taken the independent route free of agents and contracts, which is enlightened of them, methinks.
      Your review is heartwarming.
      regards
      Harry

      • Neil Bullock says:

        Dear Harry,
        Thanks for replying and I am thrilled that you have taken the first steps of Vol 4. Something to very much look forward to – fingers crossed!
        Best of luck with your entry for the Bridport Prize. As you say it is great to have entry for writers operating independently.
        Kind regards
        Neil

  3. jguenther5 says:

    I recommended your poems to a friend in my writing workshop today, Harry.

  4. Dick says:

    Wonderful that your latest book is again in Kindle format. I will be looking for it on Amazon. 73 de France. CL

    • Thank you, Dick. I’ve an emptiness now it is complete. Perhaps another.

      • Dick Downey says:

        Finished my Kindle edition. Will now purchase a hard copy. Just in case my Kindle “burps”. Ex USAF AACS operator. TDY many places in FE. Johnson Island my atoll 1959. Are you a radio amateur? My calls N2UGB and F8WBD. Been living in France for years. We are abt same age.

      • That’s good to know, Dick. Please leave a review on the Amazon book page if you are inclined – it helps an author – the algorithms are excited each time there’s a new review, so that the title’s visibility is enhanced.
        Alas, I’ve never been a radio amateur – because of too many hobbies already. You look to have had an interesting career. Enjoy France – it will be more temperate than living on this edge of the Yorkshire moors.

  5. Neil Bullock says:

    Wonderful! The best news this week! Will order today and fingers crossed there will be a 4th memoir of your merchant navy days!!

  6. Kate Brookfield says:

    Well done!
    Are you going to write about early days in commercial tv?

Leave a comment